hackberry butterfly adventure

Image

My dear friend Leilani took me on an incredible adventure the other night. I think it is an experience I’ll remember for the rest of my life. Apparently, this year, there was an abundance of hackberry butterflies in the area, and out in Fitch Nature Preserve, you’ll be covered in their ticklish wings from head to toe if you stand still too long!

Image

I don’t know if it was the butterflies or the light, but I know it was the company, that made this experience especially memorable. At times we’d wander off from each other, completely absorbed in observation and photography of the butterflies. The rest of the time, we were giggling, shooting each other covered in them, and helping to shoo them away from places we didn’t want them going! As I’m soon to leave Lawrence, I know this is one night here in Lawrence that I’ll never forget!

Image

This entry was published on May 26, 2012 at 2:59 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “hackberry butterfly adventure

  1. Amazing images of your adventure with Lei! I didn’t know you were to leave Lawrence. I’ve enjoyed the adventures you two have had. Lei is an amazing person to hang out with and she has said the same about you! I just love the iPhone pic…it cracks me up!

  2. Brenda Kliesen on said:

    Wow, just lovely. It looks like you have a lot of fun too! I’m going on an adventure once I get my camera back repaired and functional again.

  3. wish I had been there,looks amazing!

  4. Wow! this is totally amazing. These are all great, and the last one is just precious.

Leave a Reply

